Almost forgot!

Today, I have been so bored that I showered twice in the space of four hours, well at least I’m clean eh! I also almost forgot that it was Tuesday and that it was time for another update!

This week started off on a massive high for me because, not only did I come home from uni on Friday with a 1st in one of my exams and a huge grin on my face but… I GOT THREE MORE 1STS! How exciting, so all of my being anti-social and cutting myself off to the world at the end of last term payed off, and thank God for that. It’s started this semester on a high, one that I am determined to carry throughout the rest of the term.

Like I said last week, I am going to switching my blog posts up a little bit and not do the whole “On Friday I did this, and on Saturday I went there blah blah blah”. Because I think we can all agree in saying it was getting a little bit boring and I feel (and I’ve been told) that I need to work on my writing a little bit (a lot). So that’s what I’m going to do. If there is anything you’d like to hear my opinions on, or if you need any advice on something (not that I’m the best at advice giving, but I’ll give it a go!), or if you just have a request of what you’d like me to talk about in my posts, please feel free to pop them in the comment’s either on my blog or on the various social media’s you found this link on.

Like I said, I’ve been so bored today that I showered twice in the space of four hours and I spent a good 45 minutes trying to pry the back of my watch off to change its battery (I didn’t succeed), since it hasn’t been ticking since well before Christmas. When people see that my watch isn’t ticking/isn’t set to the right time they often question why I’m still wearing it. I don’t know about you, but personally, I don’t like to go out and not wear a watch, in fact it’s not only my watch. If you see me daily or you’ve known me for a while you might’ve noticed that I always have my watch on (obviously) and a selection of bracelets. I question sometimes whether this may be a very minor form of OCD and if I don’t wear them do I think someone I love is going to die, or that something bad will happen to me? The answer is, I don’t know! I just know that if I’m not wearing them I feel naked. The same goes for a necklace I have. I received it as an 18th birthday present from my parents early in 2016. But Lauren, you turned 18 in 2015, I hear you say. Yes, I did, and as a gift from my parents I received some money. Money that they didn’t want me to just go out and blow on clothes or shoes, and for a while I didn’t feel like I needed or wanted anything in particular I could splash this amount of cash on!

And then it came to me in a dream… Lol I wish. No in all seriousness, when I was little, I can’t remember how old, after my Nan passed away my Mam bought me a gold heart shaped locket. In this locket was a picture of my Nan and I would wear it everywhere. I noticed shortly after I turned 18 that I didn’t have anything that was a particular part of my Mams Dad after he passed away, or Ubba as we called him. So as my 18th birthday present from my parents I would receive a gold necklace with my name on it, in Arabic. Ubba’s heritage was Arabic and he was a practicing Muslim and so that would be my piece of him and I wear it every day without fail.

Went off on a little bit of a tangent there, back in the room. I wear these items every day. They’re a habit, but also a comfort and my safety net. The bracelets I wear are ones I was given as gifts, two of them are bracelets I received from Shelley. They came in a three piece set that had the words luck printed on the packaging, and on one of the bracelets. I wear two because the third broke, sad times :(. And the other, a Carrie Eslpeth bracelet that had the quote “Good friends are like stars, you don’t always see them but you know they’re always there” on the packaging was bought for me as a leaving present when I moved. Lauren gave me that one.

Like I said in my ‘Home Comforts’ post back in October, how I like to combat homesickness is by surrounding myself with home comforts, that I know will make me feel better! These are a few of my home comforts, they’re the things that I sometimes catch out of the corner of my eye and it makes me think of home. And that makes me happy. It’s a constant reminder for me of where I’m from, and that they’ll always be there, but most importantly, to make them proud by working as hard as I can. Something I feel I achieved last semester, and I can see in my results, and my friends and family at home are all thrilled for me.

Hope you enjoyed this post, please click the share button and give it a cheeky like, and let me know what you would like to see me talk about! I’m going to leave you with one of my favourite Welsh quotes, and i’ll speak to you soon 🙂

Lols xx

“Does unman yn debyg i adra, ac ma adra’n debyg iawn i chdi”

Leave a Reply

