The green, green grass of home.

Being home felt like I had never left, yet being back in London feels the same. I do realise that I said I would be posting while I was at home for the Christmas holidays but I did not stop. From working, to seeing friends, to spending time with family, I did not stop.

Dad picked me up from the bus station on the Friday in my little Constavlos for the first time in three months, oh my sweet Lord, it was the best feeling ever!

I was going to tell you all about everything I did and bore you with the “and then I did this, and then I went here, and then I got this”, but I’m not going to bore you with that! Instead I’m just going to tell you about the highlights of my three weeks at home.

Christmas for me has always been the time of year where I spend the most time with friends and family. Although, obviously, I spend most of my year with friends and family but Christmas is the time where I spend more quality time with them, which I love. There is nothing I like more than sitting in a relative/friend/my own house when it’s full of the people you hold most dear and everyone is chatting and just having a good time.

What made this Christmas holidays more special for me, I think, is that I have been living away from home for almost four months now and that I had been looking forward to going home so much for the last three weeks of last semester. It honestly felt like I had never left, everything was exactly how it was when I left and it was amazing. And being back in London is exactly the same, everything was exactly how it was when I left and it feels like I didn’t go home in the first place.

Being at home meant going back to work. As much as that place does stress us out, frustrate us, annoy us, I was over the moon to be back and be with my favourite people. Just like at home, nothing has changed and it’s that sense of comfort and routine that I love. Although Christmas at the Village was surprisingly quiet this year it meant that I had more time to chat with regulars and my pals (much to the spite of my Team Leader ;)).

IMG_0876.JPGSomething that was different this year is obviously, I have a rogue Daniel in my life. He’s a pain, but he’ll do ;). But because I have the best parents in the entire world they let Dan come and stay with us over the New Year and I honestly had the best New Year’s Eve/New Year I’ve ever had. As a family we’ve never really celebrated welcoming the New Year. But as Alex and myself have got older we’ve been going to parties and out and what not. This year, Queen Jackie, Daddio, Alex, Taryn (Alex’s girlfriend), Daniel and I all went out for a beautiful meal at The Plough in Whitchurch (I genuinely couldn’t move for a good 15/20 minutes afterwards). After that Dan and I went to meet Shelley, Tom and the lads down in Winter Wonderland to welcome in the New Year together. And like I said, it’s the best New Year I’ve had so far. We had the best night and just danced the it away (no better way to do it right?).

Saying goodbye to Cardiff again was just as hard as it was when I first left, except I had a new year and a new semester to come back to. This year I’m feeling really positive and optimistic (new year, new me, bla bla bla), but no, I am ready to throw myself back into uni life! Lectures, for me, start back tomorrow and my timetable has changed so instead of 10-1 on Thursdays and 10-4 on Fridays, I’m now not in on Mondays, 10-6 on Thursdays and 10-3 on Fridays.

One thing that I already have planned for the next couple of weeks is I’m going home, haha, yes I am going back to Cardiff in three weeks for the Village Hotel Christmas party (me so excited).

I am very grateful for my amazing network of family and friends back at home and they make going back all the better. They’re all such amazing people which such amazing personalities and I miss them so much while I’m away. To those of you who are reading who are part of that network, you know who you are, thank you for everything you do for me and I love you eternally, you are home and you’re the ones that make me proud of where I come from.

I hope you all had a magical Christmas and an amazing New Year. I will be back to uploading on a Tuesday as of next week and I look forward to starting a new year of adventures with you all.

Speak to you soon,

Lols xx

Leave a Reply

