Shameless plugging :)

Hello readers,

I cannot believe how magical Winter Wonderland is. Oh my, I felt completely washed over with img_1021the Christmas spirit as soon as I walked in. I think Dan and Sarah may have been a little bit freaked out by my excitement, because trust me, I was super excited! But oh my goodness it is so beautiful, expensive (obviously), but beautiful. LOOK AT IT!

But it makes you feel like a child again with all the stalls and Christmas music, and there’s much to see that you cannot possibly see it all in one go, so I’m definitely going to be going back. We went our separate ways about 10 o’clock and I trekked back home to the wife (Lily).

On Wednesday I spent the day at my desk doing uni work and managed to get a first draft of one of my essays done (of which I got really good feedback from after sending him my first draft, well chuffed) and started on my other two so I had a rather productive day. London 6-3 Lauren.  Although that does mean I have more work to be concentrating on so I can’t exactly chill yet. I’ve become somewhat of a recluse again and I haven’t been out to socialize much with the squad but, you’ve got to put the work in to get the result out in the end so fingers crossed my efforts won’t be wasted. After spending all day at my laptop staring at a screen and having Dan be a distraction on FaceTime while doing this I decided to treat myself to a really lovely dinner. So on Monday, I decided it was time to have a little bit of a detox. My skin, as in, my eczema has flared up massively in the past two weeks and I can see that I’ve put a bit of weight on so I thought it was time to clean my system a little bit. Anyway, long story short, I’ve started to eat much healthier and only drink water, tea and coffee, so I made myself a roast essentially, chicken, roasties, peas and sweetcorn. Well I really out did myself there didn’t I. Might as well quit uni and become a chef. But in all seriousness, it was really yummy.

Thursday came around, and you know what happens on Thursdays, Artist Development! Yay! We spent the majority of the lesson going over the artist development case studies we were asked to do in preparation for the lesson, but also to help us when it comes to our essays (which I’ve already done because I’m sad). But we went through them and then started talking about the 90’s in music which has got to be one of the best decades in music in my opinion. After our lecture, one of our other traditions is to meet Em at 1, when we finish and go for a coffee, because uni has turned us all into obsessive coffee drinkers who run on caffeine. It’s really bad, I’m one coffee away from a free one on my loyalty card and we cannot function properly. Lils college, ELAM, were visiting ICMP on Thursday for an exclusive open day sort of thing and were shown around and given a little talk about us as a uni and what we get up to and the opportunities they provide and so on and so forth so Chris and I tried to get some work done, I didn’t get a lot done but I managed to do a little bit of research for my other essays and Chris started on all three of his essays at once! And then Lils had managed to get me, as well as her, but she was going anyway, on the guest list to see a former ELAM trainee who goes by the stage name of Girli perform at the Camden Institute. Her music is quite an acquired taste, one which I am yet to acquire but I was very intrigued by her videos online and was quite interesting to see how she’d perform live. This may be a good time to mention that during her performance at LoveBox festival she was kicked off for swearing too much. But she wasn’t half as intense live as I thought she was going to be. We left the venue about 10:30 and made our way back to Stratford where we met Dan on our walk home because he was staying with us on Thursday and so was Anita. It was so lovely to see Anita, I haven’t seen her in a while so it was lovely to catch up with her over a cup of tea before bed. And off we went to the land of nod.

Woke up on time this week for my 10am with good ol’ Ken. This week we spoke about plagiarism and licensing which was really interesting actually, then spent a little bit looking at examples of the essays that we have to write ready for the New Year. After uni, myself, Sarah and Em chilled at Em’s all evening, had a chippy and ordered some milkshakes (yes we order milkshakes, I had a bubblegum millions one and Em had a double Oreo one). My detox kind of went down hill towards the end of last week so I just went all out. I had the worst luck on Friday as well, my eczema just exploded and I lost my bank card 😦 So I had to call Halifax and cancel my card and have them send me a new one, but, it will be sent to Cardiff because that’s still my billing address and then my parents will have to send it to me via tracked mail. London 7-3 Lauren. I stayed at Em’s on Friday night and went home about 11 o’clock Saturday morning, got in, had a shower and got changed and was practicallimg_1044y straight out the door again. I met up with my Auntie and two of my cousins for dinner which was lovely, and my Auntie paid for us which was very kind of her. I bought her some flowers and some chocolate to say thank you because I’m a lovely niece (and Queen Jackie suggested it). Lils was in Leeds this weekend so it was just lil old me, but because I’m a hardcore  party animal, I went straight to sleep. I know, uni has changed me. On Sunday I woke up and Dan came over, since his bus back to London from home stopped in Stratford, and he bought me some donuts on his way, because I asked him to! And he surprised me with flowers, brownie points there! And then we quickly went back to his so he could drop his things off before quickly getting changed and making our way, with Sarah, to his gig in Islington.

APPRECIATION SECTION.

Firstly I’d like to mention my Auntie Sue. This lady has been mentioned in a previous post but comments every week about how I haven’t mentioned her. So Auntie Sue, here’s your appreciation post. I love you very much and I miss you and I cannot wait to see you when I come home for the festive season!x

This is a plugging/appreciation section for my very talented musician friends:

  1. Daniel. Not only is he my boyfriend but he is an extremely talented singer songwriter who gigs all over London and has spent a gap year gaining a lot of gigging experience in his home town. His music his very indie acoustic and you can find him on Facebook ( https://www.facebook.com/danieljacklinmusic/?fref=ts ) where he posts about his upcoming gigs and video’s of his songs. He also has a single coming out in December of one my favourite songs of his which is ‘Difficult’.
  2. Second one goes to one of my best friends,  Emily and her band, Archiles, who also had a gig this weekend but back in her home town. They’re a very indie rock sort of band who will hopefully be gigging more in London after Christmas. In fact Dan and Em have a gig that they’ve arranged, themselves, at the beginning of February so if you’re around London on the 2nd I believe please pop by and watch. They’re both very talented people. You can find Archiles on Facebook also, if you search their name. You can also find them on Instagram @archilesofficial.

Go over to both their pages and give them some loving!

Back to your weekly update, I went into uni for 2 o’clock yesterday because I had a meeting with my lecturer to go over my essay, well, what I’ve got so far, and he gave me some helpful feedback and guidance. I then just hung around for an hour and a bit before my lecture and chilled in the common room! Then last night was the higher diploma’s showcase and my friends Sammie and Tom were both performing (and both did extremely well!) before coming home and collapsing into bed.

Today I practically stayed in bed all day before getting up to go to a two-hour student senate meeting where all the student reps meet and talk about the feedback they’ve received from their fellow students regarding things they’re not happy with, what needs fixing and what they’re really enjoying which was quite interesting.

Tomorrow I don’t have uni, I have another week without my traditional meet up and being fed by Em because she’s working so I’m going to get up at a reasonable time and do some work before going to my events meeting at 5 and then myself and Dan are going to have a date night which I’m sure will be lovely!

I hope you’ve all had a fabulous week and I’ll speak to you soon.

Lols xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

