Home comforts.

Hello!

Well what an eventful week it has been. Wednesday evening myself and my group of friends went to one of the last freshers events (cry), which was Bandeoke. It was karaoke basically but you formed bands instead of singing horrendously in front of your fellow students. When we arrived they were handing out the sign up sheet and you just popped your name and instrument/vocals next to whatever you wanted to perform as the set list they had prepared. I didn’t sign up for anything, obviously! People kept coming up to me and asking “have you signed up for anything?” and my instant reply was “ummm no, I’m a business student”. I would say about 80 percent of the people who approached me gave me an “ohhhhhhhhh” with a slight grin and the international sign known as the head bob. It was a really good evening, with everything from Stevie Wonders Superstition to Prince’s Purple Rain to Electric Six’s Gay Bar. Despite sweating probably half of my body weight off during the evening because it was so hot to say i thoroughly enjoyed myself would be an understatement. Myself, Emily and Tom then made our way to the tube together while shouting the lyrics to Gay Bar as we walked down the street.

I arrived home quite late, which the next morning I realised was a big mistake. I had a lecture at 10am didn’t I? Well done Lau, London 2 – Lauren 0. I peeled myself out of bed and got ready, I’m pretty sure I was still half asleep while putting on my make up, so God knows what I looked like that day. The lecture was thoroughly enjoyable. We spent it just talking basically and sharing our opinions on different music news articles from the previous week. We started by introducing ourselves to Ian (our lecturer) and finding out a bit more about his career history, which is very impressive may I add. After that lecture, I came straight home, just reinforcing my hardcore student life.

Friday swiftly came along and it was another 10am start, of which I was late. I knew I was running late but I was so tired that I couldn’t be bothered to rush so I just took my sweet time. I did however manage to get to my lecture with one minute to spare! London 2 – Lauren 1. I wasn’t feeling very well on Friday, from the moment I woke up I felt a bit rough and a bit groggy but I powered through. As the day progressed I just started to feel worse and worse. My insides weren’t my friend and I was exhausted by the time lectures finished at 4. Friday night was the last event on the 2016 Freshers calendar, the neon paint party. I was so excited for this all week, but I missed out because I had to go home and just rest. I was absolutely gutted but thankful for the weekend I spent in bed.

I’m not very good at judging my limits, especially with my JDM. Even though I’ve had it now for four years I still haven’t perfected the art of knowing my boundaries and I’ve had such a hectic three weeks with having my last week at The Village Hotel before leaving for London (where I work in case you didn’t know), doing the muddy run with my favourite ladies, moving up to the ‘Big Smoke’, and two weeks of Freshers, late nights, early mornings and a lot of travelling around. So that’s how I spent my hardcore weekend as a student, in bed, fast asleep. Now anyone who knows me knows that I absolutely love to sleep, I could sleep for Wales, but not when it’s the only thing you can do because you are physically too tired to do anything useful! London 3 – Lauren 1 (< that score has jumped loads in this post in comparison to previous posts).

Everyone I’ve met who’ve either been through uni or are experiencing it at the moment has told me that if you haven’t felt homesick, the moment you come down with a cold, or feel unwell is the moment it’ll hit you. Now, I haven’t felt homesick in a sense (yet anyway, but let’s not wish it upon ourselves), but I do miss my friends and family at home a lot, it’s the people who make home, home. And although I’m surrounded by my best friend who I’m fortunate enough to be living with, but a big bunch of amazing new people (ICMP Seshers as we like to call ourselves), home is where the heart is and my heart is with my family and friends in Cardiff. Because I knew this and I knew I was getting ill/run down I tried to combat it by surrounding myself with as many home comforts as I could. I lit all of my candles, to remind myself of my Mum, Queen Jackie, because she loves a good candle and always lights them to make the house feel homely and cosy, and it’s a homely scent for me which I found comfort in. While in bed on Saturday I spent a good hour plus on FaceTime to my family while they were up my Gran and Bamps’ house. (Hi Auntie Al and Uncle Damon, bit of publicity for you both here 😉 ).fullsizeoutput_4ff.jpeg

I went into my Business and Finance lecture on Monday full of confidence after Friday’s successful lesson in which I’d built my confidence a little bit, just to be put back in place and be reminded that I have not the slightest idea about how business and finance works, and yes I know that’s what I’m there to learn but it’s different when you go into something where you have no idea whatsoever how it works. Spent my evening being delirious at the flat with Lily and Isla before settling in bed with an episode of Rizzoli and Isles. HARDCORE!

Had to pop into uni today to chat with a member of the wellbeing team about the joys of JDM but I was home at a reasonable enough time that I completely bleached the kitchen and mopped the floor, bleached and cleaned my bathroom and then polished and swept and cleaned my room. Now I understand that this amount of hardcore-ness (yes it’s a word) might be a lot to take in and I apologise but I just can’t help it!

Tomorrow I’m seeing family which I’m super excited for because I get to meet my baby cousin of four months foe the first time. YAY! And I’m off to see Dan sing at an open mic event in the evening and Lily is coming with me which will be really fun I’m sure.

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful week/day and I’ll fill you in next week.

Speak to you soon,

Lols xx

One thought on “Home comforts.

Leave a Reply

