Freshers is almost over :(

I’ve already written this once, it didn’t save and I lost it. Well done Lau, you’re a brilliant human being.

So, here we go again..

Hello!

Wednesday was enrolment for me, which means that I just had to confirm who I was and make sure my student finance was all straight and if I needed any additional support and all that jazz. Was over a lot quicker than I thought it would be, anyway, we ended up just hanging around for a bit before going to The Good Ship in Kilburn to help set up for the freshers event for that evening, which was SpeedJam. SpeedJam was basically half a night of speed ‘friending’ where people just got to know each other and put names to faces and so on and then the second half of the night was the jamming session where different musicians from our year just jumped on stage and performed different songs which was so much fun. Not that I got up on stage, of course not, but it was nice to finally see what talents lie within our year and what’s to be expected. I left early because I was quite tired after a busy week of late nights and a lot of travelling around London for various reasons and I was excited to just get into bed with a cup of tea and a biscuit and watch Rizzoli and Isles (of which I managed to watch a full season in 24 hours, hardcore).

Thursday was a lazy day for me, or just an average day for a student really, spent the day in and out of sleep because I was that tired. It was amazing because who doesn’t love sleep right? (just re-inforcing how hardcore I’ve become)

Before I knew it, it was Friday and Freshers Fair day. Got to uni about 11 o’clock and it was already so busy, I signed up for the events team and to be a part of the Radio station, which Dad would be proud of me I’m sure, but I’m excited to be a part of these, if they choose to have me of course. We weren’t there long only because it was mainly different unions and groups for musicians mainly (of which I am not) so we made the hard decision of to Nandos? Or not to Nandos? The general consensus was, Nandos, so that’s where we ended up! After Nandos we ended up in what’s turned out to be our favourite bar in Kilburn, Brondes Age. We were in there for about an hour before heading our separate ways. We then all met at Dan and Sarah’s house for pre drinks before our Camden pub crawl. It was an amazing evening full of laughter and delirium, what more can you ask for eh?

Saturday I headed over to UCLH (University College Hospital London) for a JDM focus group. These are usually groups that are help about once every three months. It’s where a handful of JDM patients, whether still receiving treatment or are in remission, meet with our researchers to discuss what’s happening in research at the moment and what their new findings over the past couple of months have been, and we’re in the process of re-building the JDRG (Juvenile Dermatomyositis Research Group) website. If you visit it at the moment it’s very 90’s and very boring and plain to look at. Basically, it’s not very attractive and I wouldn’t give it the time of day if it popped up on my laptop screen. So we’ve decided to re-make it, we’ve added different sections and completely changed the way it looks and it’ll hopefully be going live soon. We’ve added a section where JDM patients, past and present, can send their JDM stories to the website leader to be published, so current patients can read them and spot the similarities and help them understand that they are not alone in this. Well this meeting wasn’t like that at all! We sat and ate pizza and snacks while talking about random rubbish, fluttering in and out of JDM as and when we pleased. It was so refreshing to not only talk about it with people who completely understand you but to be able to talk about anything but that, because we are more than our conditions (and the pizza was amazing!).

I had the flat to myself this weekend so in true Queen Jackie style, I cleaned! (I’m such a hardcore student I know, I will stop rubbing it in soon) I’m the total opposite of your average student I would say, when it comes to house keeping at least. My room is always tidy, clothes are always put away, dishes are always clean and so on. And I’m not even joking. I’ve deep cleaned and mopped our kitchen three times since being here and cleaned my bathroom. If that’s not hardcore student living I don’t know what is!

Sunday was another lazy day, I’ll stop flaunting my hardcore-ness in a minute (yes that is a word). Sorted a few emails out and did some reading ready for my first lecture on Monday and stayed in my pyjamas all day, yet again. Monday swiftly came along and so did my first lecture. DUN DUN DUUUNNNN! Principles of Music Business and Finance. They really threw us in the deep end there. I was so nervous and excited at the same time. Boy was I right to be nervous. This module is the most difficult and I was so overwhelmed and intimidated by it but I know as long as I work my hardest and put my all into it I’ll be fine. It’s just getting there (ahhhhh!).

Today was spent with the girls just mooching around before going to choir this evening. We sang Marvin Gaye, it was amazing! My next lecture is Thursday and that’s the one I’m really excited for, Principles of Artist Development, so I’ll let you know how that goes next week!

I don’t know how I’ve had the energy to re-write my first draft after losing it but hey! It’s done now.

I hope you’ve all had a fabulous week/day and I’ll speak to you soon.

Lols xx

One thought on “Freshers is almost over :(

Leave a comment